top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Shabbat Shorts

Today‘s dress is from a second hand shop in Slovenija! It’s a little long for my style, but I’ve enjoyed wearing it. yesterday felt a little slow. I was feeling a bit bummed about some stuff. But I got a last minute invite to a Shabbat dinner on the upper west side. It’s always funny to be there, since it’s where I grew up. This woman had a beautiful penthouse apartment. I loved it. It had its own private terrace too. I walked in at 8pm and it was packed! So many people there. I knew a few of them, since this is a group that meets every week in a different apartment. The organizer, Gili, is a very generous person who puts these events together. He doesn’t ask for money or anything. He finds a host and brings the food and makes it perfect and welcoming for anyone. I am so grateful for him. I went to one of his dinners on New Year’s Eve at someone else’s place. The host was flirting with me and we had a bit of a thing. it was New Years after all. But I’ve been purposefully not dating and I felt it was a bit of a weird energy. I don’t have issues with republicans, but there were a lot of trump hats in his apartment. something was just…off. I hadn’t heard from him since, which was fine. He was there last night. I didn’t care, but he kept on harassing me. He asked me to talk, numerous times. I kept dodging it. I had no idea what he wanted and I preferred to talk to other people there. He was taking up my time and I wasn’t interested in that. Finally I sat with him for a moment. Something was wrong with him. Either he was drunk or on drugs, but he wasn’t making sense. He told me he adored me and then said he wanted me to go home with him. UM…no. I walked away and asked the host for help. We went downstairs and when I got back up, he was at it again, but this time he was angry. “You’re drunk!” He yelled at me. I wasn’t. I don’t even drink anymore, making it even more absurd. “You’re trashy from Queens, and you aren’t that pretty!” I wasn’t offended, but it made me sad. He said it in front of everyone, and people kept asking me what was going on and if I was OK. I didn’t want to get into it. But aside from that, it was a great night. There were even people who had done ayahuasca! I just love meeting like minded people, who aren’t scared of Covid and want to connect. It’s the best. I made some new friends tonight, ate nice food in a beautiful apartment and got harassed by a crazy Trumper. I love NY sometimes. But 2 more days until Colombia!





46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page