top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Bird in the House

A few weeks ago, I was able to spend my birthday and the following days in the Hamptons. A generous family friend offered her house to me and another friend. After a few days, she asked me to move to one of her other houses. All good. Moving was a bit inconvenient but the second house was on the ocean, which I was happy about.

I went to the second house to get settled while my friend stayed at the first house to do some work. I got a text from her saying there was a bird in the house. That sucks, I thought. I figured she’d handle it. But then she asked me to come back and help her. The bird was pooping on the bed in the loft. Annoyed, I returned. Sure enough, a small bird was flying all around the house. There weren’t many windows for it to leave from. I became very frustrated. I was also angry. Why does shit like this happen to me? I started to cry. I felt so helpless. I called the owner of the house. I called her handyman. But no one could really do anything. Then I called my friend Pearl. She said to me, briyah, you are blessed! This is a good sign! Meditate, thank the bird for its messages and tell it it’s free to go. Wow. I hadn’t even considered that. I had forgotten to Google “bird in house.” I did what she said. I sang a little also. Soon after, the bird flew right out of the house.

What does this teach me? A lesson I forget every day and have to re-learn. That life isn’t a punishment, but an opportunity. That although I feel helpless, I am not. I am blessed.

On this new moon in Leo and also on my Hebrew birthday of Rosh Chodesh Av, I want to affirm my intention to be a published author and help change how we view mental illness. I hope everyone else starts to feel relief in this strange time of intensity as people begin to wake up more and more. You are blessed by being here.

Amen

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page