top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Randa

Today’s dress is a vintage piece I found yesterday on my way home from lunch with my friend, Randa. I saw it at the local thrift store in my neighborhood. I’ve never liked that place, but now I’ll give it more of a chance. I’ve always found the selection disappointing and the prices too high. but I found this gem. I didn’t even try it on since the bus was about to come. but it fit perfectly. Lucky me. Only set me back $11. I bargained a little. My friend Kayla took these pics. We were in the bathroom and I decided it was a good backdrop. It was funny to be taking pictures while men passed by to use to toilet. Not a bad way to start some conversations, though! i’m so glad I got to see Randa yesterday. We met a year ago at a Shabbat dinner. She’d never been to one before. She’s from Cairo, and a little older than me. I always benefit from her life experience and general wisdom. She recently brought her parents to the US and they’re living with her and her roommate! She’s the definition of a selfless person. She even agreed to share the mix grill plate at the Turkish restaurant we went to, when she wanted something else. she helped me to focus on positive things that make me happy, and to let go of things beyond my control. We made lists on napkins. I gave her the ankh earrings I got at the Rythmia gift shop. It was recently her birthday and it is an Egyptian symbol, after all. I think I’ll stick to Jewish stars.

I met my new next door neighbor, a lovely woman from Albania. She renovated the apartment and I couldn’t believe it. It was such a dump before, and now it looks incredible. I think I’ll hire her contractor to do some work for me too. so cool. Happy to have a nice, new neighbor.

after that I went to a friend‘s birthday. I don’t know him well, but it was more of a Jewish singles event. It feels like this group is the last ones stranding. We’ve tried to find love, but here we are.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page