top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Picky Eaters

Today’s dress is one I made myself. I was making masks at the time and tried making dresses. I wanted something simple (no zipper). I made about 10 like this one, with different patterns. Some fit me better than others, but this is one of my favorites. I like the black background.

i don’t recall ever being a picky eater. I was raised vegetarian with a little bit of fish. My brother would only eat a few things, for years. Pizza, nachos, caesar salad. Those were the staples. I don’t know how he chose those. Last night I was with some friends and they were talking about a menu for a dinner party. One friend admitted he doesn’t have a sophisticated palate and the elegance of the meal would be lost on him. It occurred to me that many people must feel that way. I’m grateful that I’m able to really appreciate good food. last night was a bit problematic. My mother and I decided to meet for dinner. She chose a nice place in lower Manhattan. It was pretty far for me (an hour on the train), but I wanted to be accommodating. when I arrived, my mother was sitting at the bar. She had asked for a different table and then a second different table and they made us wait another 15 minutes for it. Sometimes I get a doomed feeling around my mother and then it always manifests into something unpleasant. It’s very alarming and I don’t know what to do about it. This was the case last night. Things just continued to go wrong. They got very busy and ignored us for a while. They served our food cold. The portions were unusually tiny. The main mean looked like an appetizer. How can you charge $35 for a few pieces of duck? Disappointing. It wasn’t even that good. They thought my mother ordered a second cocktail and when they realized it was a misunderstanding, they didn’t even let her keep the drink, even though they had continued to screw up. I got so triggered, I really wanted to leave. I tried to explain to my mother what was going on for me, but it was really difficult. She just didn’t understand and was also getting more agitated with me. We finally agreed to leave and go to a diner. I got more food since I was still hungry after a $60 meal. The French onion soup at the diner was excellent. I think the restaurant we went to would be more appropriate for a date and not a mother Daughter catch up, where I wanted to ask her about grieving the loss of her father. It was not good vibes there. I feel a little better today. I’m so tired. I have options for later, but I might just stay home and rest.

shabbat shalom

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page