top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Nanny diaries

Today’s dress is vintage! I found it at the Alameda Flea Market and it needed a lot of alteration in the bust. I’ve never worn it out before. I fell in love with the back of it. It’s so pretty. i used to be a part time nanny. I liked it. especially caring for babies. I found a few families in San Francisco to work for. they mainly came through an app called Urban Sitter. The app would have a job board and a sitter could submit themselves. sometimes the jobs were very last minute. the parent would have to put their trust in someone they had only just met. I found it fascinating to get a peek into people’s lives. I liked looking in the fridge and seeing the space. San Francisco is great for real estate envy. I’d have fun playing with the kids, too. I had a regular job by Coit Tower in North Beach. it was a walk up and I got my steps in! The little guy was about 8 months old and I’d put him in the carrier and walk around. it’s crazy to think that he’s about 6 now. I haven’t kept in touch with the family. another girl was 3 and learning to potty train. she frequently had accidents at school. I know it was stressful for the parents. I took her to the zoo one day and she had to pee on the street. I went to the library and read the kids books. I gave them snacks. I got them home on time. babysitting during Covid was different. parents were home but they needed help. I babysat for one older mother who had been told by her doctor to slow down, but she couldn’t. I realized that babysitting had become like my other jobs and I was getting let go. it felt like a sign. I didn’t want to babysit anymore. I had gotten to an age where I was kind of done with it. I don’t think I want kids myself. who knows what the future holds, but it feels like it doesn’t fit with my personality or my lifestyle. I love my niece and nephew, but i no longer feel that comfortable around kids. I don’t know what to say to them. I’m not good with boundaries. I make mistakes like not watching them so closely. I’ll still help out, but my nanny days are over. just not for me.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page