top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Mechanic

Here is a picture of me about to belly dance last Tuesday. I wanted to go again this week but it won’t work out today. It still so weird to me that I have a mechanic. Because I’m such a late in life driver, I didn’t expect this. last summer, I drove over a cement block in the parking lot and got nervous that I damaged my car. I took it to a mechanic in queens and they said it was fine but of course they found other things wrong with the car. Nothing major but they quoted me nearly $1,000! I’ve since come to learn that that’s how mechanics are. I’m not saying they’re dishonest, but it seems they will always find something to fix. The nice thing is that I’ve now become friends with some of the guys there and it’s kind of fun to hang around in the office. I even text them to say hi. I came back today because my tail light is loose. My mechanic also flirted with me, which was a nice confidence boost! Ha, what a sentence.

Ever since daylight savings I’ve had trouble adjusting to the time. I’m up til last 2am and can’t really get out of bed til 10. Sometimes later. But last night I really set my mind to it and it went much better. Progress not perfection.

i‘m on my way for a meeting about the FED social film festival, which will be may 6 and 7. The films are so powerful. One is a documentary about a Jewish kid from Long Island who killed himself. It’s such a beautiful and painful story. The mental illness is so powerful in some of us. And we have to use everything we can to overcome it. That’s why my mission is to spread awareness. No one can feel alone in this. No one. tomorrow I have a therapy session with my sister. I’m nervous. I haven’t seen her since “the incident” in mid January. We have been texting, but I’m not sure what to expect. I’m going to keep an open mind and rem

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page