top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Maisel season 4

Today‘s dress is from the floating market in Thailand. It’s a great dress to wear around the house because it’s loose fitting. I belted it here, with a fun green and gold belt from anthropologie. I recently finished watching the new season of The Marvelous Mrs Maisel. Readers may remember that I was an extra back in season 3. It was an interesting experience, but I wasn’t pleased that they made me cut my hair, only to put it up anyway. And I could barely be seen on screen. But that’s show business for you. SPOILERS AHEAD

i found this season fascinating. The characters are very well developed at this point in the series and the stakes are high for all of them. maisel has been dumped from her tour with shy Baldwin. sophie Lennon is trying to get her career back after an embarrassing outburst. Susie is trying to be a professional manager. Joel is in love with Mei, a non Jewish Chinese woman from a gangster family. Rose wants to be a matchmaker but she’s angered the other local matchmakers by taking their business. Abe wants to write, but his honestly is getting him in trouble. Midge has said no to any opening gigs, out of fear of being rejected again. But it means she is turning down good work. She has a romantic night with fellow comedian Lenny Bruce, but can she handle what he thinks about her career choices? So much to unpack! As always, I loved the fashion. The hats stood out to me this season. Can you imagine having a matching hat for each dress? There were also many good lines. Tony shaloub is a treasure. He had some of my favorites this season. When he goes to synagogue and defends himself after writing a negative theater review about a fellow congregant. “You are the frog,” he says. “I am the scorpion. I sting because it is my nature.”

and Susie, as always, is just hysterical. How she has to learn from a book how to hire and fire people. She learns to appreciate her new secretary, dinah, who initially impresses her by waiting around all day for her interview when Susie forgets. the relationship between Mei and Joel creates a lot of conflict. no one really knows about her, except for Midge. He tells his father, who then has a heart attack upon hearing that she’s both pregnant and not Jewish! The not being Jewish is worse, and when he recovers in the hospital, Moishe tells Joel she must convert. MeI doesn’t seem like the type to agree to that, but we’ll see next season. All the family dynamics are so brilliant. Everyone is just going along, trying to get what they need and want. I found it to be a very enjoyable season. We really watch midge struggle with her identity. She’s had success, but she finds herself working at a strip club because that’s all she thinks she can get and she really needs the money. She even bargains with the local vendors so she has milk for her family. Even with the setbacks, I found her resilience inspiring. She rolls with the punches and is so quick witted, it left me stunned at times. It also made me want to try my hand at standup. I really want a live audience to share my personal stories with. I can’t wait for next season! I would consider being an extra, but they’re still requiring the hair cut. No thanks.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page