top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Hiking in the Snow

Today was so great. I found a local hike on Airbnb. It was only $1 so I was intrigued. It turned out it didn’t include transportation, but the organizer lives in my neighborhood and said he’d take me. we picked up another girl and met a 4th girl at the location, in Peekskill, NY. The forecast called for pretty bad weather, but we all showed up, ready to go. I’ve never hiked in such snowy conditions, but it was so beautiful. A real winter wonderland. It was also therapeutic. We had gone intending to scream out what was hurting us.

Today was also the 2 year anniversary of the Covid lockdowns. March 11. I released a resentment I had. “Fuck Covid!” I yelled out! I shared some stories with the group. They shared with me. We gave ourselves the space we needed. we hiked 5 miles and I felt so good! I went home and took a short nap before facetiming with my nephew, who is 3.5.

“I’m going to a party tonight,” I said. “you can’t go at night. Parties are only in the daytime.”

he also thought the train stopped running at night. Oh, to be a young child again!

he was having his weekly sleepover at my mothers place. Tomorrow she joins my dad back in Budapest. It’s good when they’re together. I’m off to my friend’s birthday. I put on a white dress and a colorful scarf I got in Chile. I had a seafood dinner with my friend in our neighborhood. I now know he is vegetarian. Oops. But there was enough for him to eat. we do yoga together as often as possible. that was my day. I felt connected to god and I believed in myself. Here’s hoping I can keep it up tomorrow!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page