top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

Comuna 13

Hola amigas! Today‘s outfit is a DKNY top and a patterned skirt that feels joyful. The pocketbook is a fake Louis Vuitton that I got on canal street when I was a teenager.

ok so where did I leave off with colombia…ah yes, guatape. Such a beautiful place. A must see! Then I went back to Medellin. It was a long drive with some traffic. I was beat! The next day was Monday and I went on a tour of comuna 13. It used to be a very dangerous area, full of drug traffickers. But in 2002, there was a raid that killed many, he also signaled a new beginning for the community. Escalators were installed to make the hilltops more accessible. My tour was led by a local resident named Sebastian who was just lovely. The people in Colombia are really generous and welcoming. That was the best part of the experience. The art and graffiti there is also incredible. It was non stop creativity and liveliness. Rappers, homemade passion fruit popsicles, and other delicacies made it such a unique cultural day out. I made a friend at my hostel named lane, who had been living in Austin, Texas, but was mostly raised in Dubai by American parents. She had such an endearing accent and was interested in all my stories of failed romances. She had some good ones too, of course. She also went to bed around 10pm and woke up at 6:30, which I thought was pretty cool at a hostel. She was working remotely for Whole Foods/Amazon. I met so many people who were working remotely. Some were honest about it and others were hiding it from their employers. What a world we are living in!

Wednesday was my last day and I was supposed to go on a hike, but I didn’t sleep well, and woke up with my period so I cancelled. It also started to rain heavily. Once it eased up outside I decided it was a great day for self care. I got my hair cut ($10) and a massage and facial ($48 including tip). I met some friends at a vegan restaurant that I found a bit disappointing. I wasn’t really in the mood for vegan. Then we went to a bar with a ball pit and fell into it! I went to sleep pretty happy, and also ready to go back home. It was a long trip for me. I’d love to get back to Colombia sometime in a better head space. But I am thankful for what I learned and received. today I’m super stoked because one of my best friends has agreed to do a podcast with me! We met studying abroad in paris in 2005, and she is just the best. Stay tuned for more!

Love you all!

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page