top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBriyah Paley

American girl doll

I don’t have any outfits to share right now. I’ve been picking at my skin from anxiety and I feel bad. when I was about 9, my girl cousins and I each got an American girl doll. I chose Kirsten. She was blond and from Sweden. I pretended I also spoke Swedish. I did not. I had clothes for her and accessories that were kept in a wicker trunk. Then a new doll named Felicity came out. She had beautiful red hair. I’ve always like shiny new things and Felicity was it. I hand wrote the doll hospital, asking for them to replace Kirsten’s head with felicity’s. They obliged. When my parents sold their NYC apartment, I picked up Felicity and the trunk and brought it to my home in queens. I wasn’t sure what to do with it but I didn’t want to get rid of any of it. They were special memories for me. Recently I took her down from the closet and now she’s in my bed. It feels comforting to have her with me. I sleep alone and I’ve been single for over a year now. I don’t have any pets. My family is a mess. It’s a bit isolating and lonely. I only have myself. I forget to breathe. I feel overwhelmed. I’m learning ways to regulate and come up with an order to the day that I can follow. Tomorrow I start volunteering weekly at a yoga studio in downtown Manhattan. It’s a special place and I‘m looking forward to being of service there and taking part in the classes too. blessings and peace to all

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page